Wolverine Goes To Hell

In 2011 the team of Jason Aaron and Renato Guedes sent Wolverine beyond life and death, on a downwards trip to meet the man he’s given more business than anybody else: the devil. “Wolverine Goes To Hell” relaunched the central Wolverine series written by Aaron with a big new event story which built off some of the previous stories but mainly wiped the slate clean for a long, self-contained and horrifying narrative designed to make Logan suffer like never before.

With Wolverine now a relatively content member of the X-Men and the Avengers, and with a new girlfriend called Melita Garner, most things in his life were settled. But after Nightcrawler died in the Second Coming storyline, things were changing again – and Wolverine could see that too. Never anything less than prepared for the absolute worst, Wolverine continued on with his life, but knew that something was coming to get him.

And it sure did. Aaron’s storyline extended outwards and faced Wolverine with both his literal and historical demons, as he explored the character’s long history of violence and death through as cruel a lens as possible. Not everything worked about the story, but it benefited from strong character work and dialogue throughout, and on Aaron’s central thesis about Wolverine as a person, which loomed through all his stories without ever being stated.

Wolverine had found his faith again.

Reading Order:

Wolverine: The Road to Hell

Wolverine (Vol. 4) #1

Wolverine (Vol. 4) #2

Wolverine (Vol. 4) #3

Wolverine (Vol. 4) #4

Wolverine (Vol. 4) #5